Don’t Leave Home Without It

Photo by: suphakit73. Courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Photo by: suphakit73. Courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

I left without it. After cramming four days worth of clothes, shoes and toiletries into my luggage, no sliver of space remained for a Bible or my daily devotional.

No problem. On the first morning, I breathed a quick “This is the day the Lord has made” prayer and a rambling one in the evening after a long day of meetings as I drifted to sleep.

Each day I strayed further from time with God until the last day of the trip. I sat in the airport waiting for my return flight when the thought assaulted my conscience, I forgot to pray this morning. Without a Bible or devotional to start my day, the undertow of busyness and distractions pulled me further out to sea.

I’ll get back on track tomorrow. I promised.

Tomorrow. Back home. I plowed through email, put in a full day’s work, finished reading a book, and vegged on the couch staring at a repeat episode of HGTV. Only when I shuffled off to bed and reached to turn off the light did it catch my eye — the devotional on the bedside table. Still unopened. Still unread.

Lesson Learned: How easy it is … it took only four days … without the tether of daily time in His presence, to drift from the One who anchors me. How scary it is when I notice I can’t see Him as clearly when I squint toward the distant shore. How quickly I lose the sound of His voice in the winds of activity that whip about me.

Vacation time nears, and I look forward to a week of freedom from the usual routines and disciplines that govern my day. However, daily devoted time with God is not a discipline from which I can take a break. It’s not a discipline. It’s like air and food. It’s a necessity. And I can’t live without it.

Day and night, I’ll stick with God. I’ve got a good thing going and I’m not letting go. (Psalm 16:8, The Message.)

©2014 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Time With God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t Leave Home Without It

  1. emmalmoore says:

    T
    A suggestion-Holy Bible or Bible Gateway on your phone, iPad or laptop. That could help the next time you travel. Great post.

Leave a Reply

