How Long is a Good Life?

Image courtesy of Stoonn/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Stoonn/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

A long life might not be good enough, but a good life is always long enough.

The pastor for Marcus spoke these words ten years ago at his memorial service. Every year since then, on March 4, friends and family remember the 29 year-old gentle giant of a man. They recall a good life cut short by a bullet fired in a senseless drive-by shooting.

The 6′ 3″ Tennessee Tech linebacker found Christ at 14 years old and never stopped living his faith. He spoke words of encouragement to the troubled and offered acts of kindness for the challenged. He adopted a fatherless five-year-old as his “little brother” and served as a role model in the young men’s ministry.

Even as I packed his desk at work, I found one last note that Marcus wrote. “What do I want to do? Help others turn their potential into reality.”

Marcus did not live a long life, but his good life was long enough. He produced good fruit, unlike a certain fig tree Jesus passed during his last week in Jerusalem.

Looking for something to eat, Jesus spotted the tree lush with leaves. Since a fig tree produces fruit first, then leaves, Jesus walked toward it, expecting figs. Instead, he found the tree barren of fruit.

Leaves covered it. Figs should have been there, ripe for picking. Yet, the tree produced nothing. Jesus cursed the tree. It’s long life was not good enough. (Mark 11:12-14)

Now, every year on March 4, Marcus’ memory calls me to assess … While I added another year to life, have I also added life to my years? Am I living a long life that might be good enough? Or a good life that will always be long enough?

Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. (Matthew 10:39, NIV)

©2014 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

 

 

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Serving Others and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Long is a Good Life?

  1. vondaskelton says:

    Beautiful reminder, Gloria. I especially love “While I added another year to life, have I also added life to my years?” Thank you…

Leave a Reply

