My Job is Not to Problem – Solve

I was plunged into darkness so black I couldn’t see the person standing next to me. Even after sixty seconds passed to let my eyes adjust, the cave walls were still invisible. Total absence of light surrounded us, and only the tour guide’s voice reassured the group she was still there.

IMG_0714“Have you ever lost anyone in here?” someone asked. A wave of nervous laughter rippled through the tourists.

“Not to date,” our guide replied. “But stick close. Follow me.”

We had no choice because the problem was no one but her knew where we were or where we were going.

The guide clicked her flashlight on, signaling us to do the same. As she moved forward, I stepped on the heel of the man in front and someone rear-ended me, as we each determined not to wander from the leader. Our guide alone knew the way through the twists and turns, the paths to take and those to avoid in this Colorado mountain cave.

For a few moments, we walked in silence. But, once reassured the guide knew what she was doing, tense shoulders and gripped hands relaxed. We peppered the guide with questions and stooped through tunnels too narrow for us to stand. We admired every point of interest until the tour’s end, where we exited back into the sunlight.

When something is broken I want to fix it. Yet, despite the fact that I like to roll up my sleeves and dig in to solve problems, that was not my role in the cave. And, that’s not my role here in the big picture. It’s God’s.

My role is to follow Him. He knows where we are and where He wants us to go. My job is to listen for His voice in the blackness. To trust that He alone will light the way in even the darkest caves of life. Until, in the end, I emerge into the sunlight.

…his life brought light to everyone. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it. (John 1:4-5, NLT)

©2014 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Letting Go, Listening to God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Job is Not to Problem – Solve

  1. Beautiful analogy, Gloria! I had a similar event when I went cave scuba diving. We turned out our lights and it was so black I could hardly breathe. We had to hold onto a rail and absolutely could not let go. That’s how people get lost..and some had because they were determined to do it their way. 😦

Leave a Reply

