Which is Better … More or Less?

Photo from YouTube.com

Photo from YouTube.com

“Who thinks more is better than less?” That’s the question an adult posed in one of my favorite commercials. The kindergartener explains without hesitation, “More! We want more.”

I can relate. Being an ambitious oldest or perhaps just a product of society, I’ve often wanted more… more friends, more house, more clothes, more status, more responsibility, etc, etc. More was an indicator of success. More brought happiness.

As the years fly by, though, I lose more and get less. I am …

  • Less of a targeted consumer for market groups.
  • Less desirable as a patient to doctors. (Like the one who turned me away because of my age … and I’m not even Medicare eligible.)
  • Less likely to succeed at becoming President.
  • Less stressed over details that probably never mattered anyway.
  • Less focused on ME.

And discover, in many cases, less produces more …

  • More time with family and friends.
  • More opportunity to do what I am called to do.
  • More focus on others in need
  • More energy at the end of the day.
  • More of HIM and building His kingdom

Which is better? It’s not complicated. When there is less of me, there is more room for Him. As I become less, He can become more.  And I embrace this moment in time …

“…the assigned moment for him to move into the center, while I slip off to the sidelines.” (John 3:30, The Message)

More or less, which do you choose?

©2014 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Kingdom of God, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Which is Better … More or Less?

  1. Lara says:

    Thanks Gloria, you have away of making God easy to understand.

  2. Harold W. Bryan says:

    Hi Gloria,

    Thank you for your glimpses today. Since reading James Kittlesons book on Martin Luther I have been interested in what changed Luthers perspective( in his later years) on the subject of righteousness. Luther apparently came to the realization that it was not his righteousness that moved him but God’s righteousness living within him. I have offered to do a Faithbuilders class lesson on the subject of self righteousness vs. Gods righteousness if Dana puts me on the schedule. Why does it take us so long to find out who is in control of our lives? Your glimpse today fits in, I think, with what I would like to present to the class.

    Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with the class.

    Your friend in Christ,

    Hal Bryan

    • Gloria Ashby says:

      Thank you for your insight, Hal. For me, it’s taken years to move my understanding of God words from my head to my heart. I hope my thoughts today will add meaning for all who hear your lesson. Thank you for sharing.

  3. rnjmorrison@sbcglobal.net says:

    I really needed to read today’s blog, yet again I see a message made just for me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

