Don’t Give Up

I ran late this week in writing a blog. In fact, I have not put pen to paper nor strung together a cohesive thought worthy of distribution. Responsibilities and deadlines kept me unusually busy, and I was ready to give up posting anything. That is, until two people greeted me with “You’re story about “x” (fill in the blank with two different stories) hit home for me.”

So, early in this new year, God reminded me that He makes a way for us to keep going when He calls us. And today is no different. Here is the re-posting of the story He brought to my mind:

A couple of years ago, TangleRidge golf course opened right before Christmas. I decided to surprise my husband, Jim, with a round of golf, but TangleRidge didn’t yet have a way to set up the gift by phone. I had to drive there to purchase it. I left work early to pick up the gift and still arrive home as usual without Jim suspecting anything.

Since this was before my Garmin, I relied on MapQuest directions and my out-of-date Mapsco to steer the way. I drove along Highway 67 for what seemed eternity and soon noticed only farmland and cows dotted the roadside. Certain I missed the exit, I turned around and drove in the opposite direction. Still no exit. After three times up and down the highway, I tossed in the towel and swore I’d find a different gift not so hard to locate.

Half way home, frustration gave way to stubborn persistence. I eased over to the shoulder of the road, pulled out my cell phone, and punched in the phone number to the golf course.

“Here’s where I am but where are you?” I asked.

“I don’t know where you are, but I promise, our exit is on the right as you go south on Highway 67,” the man insisted.

I turned around for the fourth time and headed south … again. Sure enough, the exit appeared two miles beyond the furthest point I reached previously … just like the man promised.

God said, “I promise. Don’t give up. Keep going.”

Jacob fled from his home in Beersheba and set out for Haran after cheating his brother out of a birthright. As he slept for the night, God came to Jacob in a dream and said, “Know that I am with you and will keep you wherever you go…; for I will never leave you until I have done what I have promised you.” (Genesis 28:15, NIV) Generations later, God made the same promise to the Israelites who wanted to give up, turn back to slavery and forego the Promised Land whenever the going got rough in the desert.

Throughout His Word, God’s promises, “Don’t give up. Keep going. I’ll never leave you until I’ve done what I promised you.” Consider that thought in this new year with whatever you face and look forward with expectancy to His Second Coming. Who knows? It might be coming up within the next two miles of our journey.

The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” (Deuteronomy 31:8, NIV)

©2011 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Perseverance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Give Up

  1. Sharon Cuff says:

    Thanks for reposting this Gloria. Never hurts to remind ourselves of God’s promises. We so enjoyed being in your beautiful home yesterday for Jessica’s shower, she is such a beautiful young lady, and so radiant . Thank you again for sharing this special moment with us.

Leave a Reply

