A Surprise in the Road

image courtesy of rhynecats.com

image courtesy of rhynecats.com

I cruised along Highway 380 at 64 mph, just slightly over the speed limit and within the five mph grace I hoped police still gave. On the way to work, feeling sassy in my new sweater and pants, and looking forward to a calendar only half full with meetings with plenty of free time to focus on people and projects.

Without warning, the car ahead of me swerved. A hard left into the next lane. I had no time to avoid the red box he had spotted lying in the middle of my road.

Thummmp! I hit the object squarely, where it lodged under the middle of my front bumper.

Power forward. It should tumble out the back by the sheer force of the car rolling over it. Wishful thinking. I cringed at the persistent sound of plastic dragging along the cement pavement. A glance in my rearview mirror validated that nothing red ejected from the rear of my car.

I had no choice but to turn off the highway. I veered right to a rutted dirt road and rolled to a stop on the grassy shoulder. Walking on my toes to keep my heels from sinking in the soft soil, I picked my way to the front of the car. There, firmly lodged under my license plate was a red plastic gas container.

Determined to fix the problem and continue on my way, I kicked the crushed box. It refused to budge. I squatted to yank it loose with my bare hands, but only managed to fall backwards into a nest of cockle burrs. Ouch.

Only then did it occur to me … I needed help. I was out of my league in solving this situation. My journey took a surprising turn. One that I was not capable of  plowing through on my own power.

When life is clicking along, I tend to believe I’m holding the controls. I forget God is still present, still involved, still working. I forget until a surprise in the road pops up.

Difficulties naturally drive me to my knees. What I find tough is staying on Jesus when the good times roll. Assigning Him the glory rather than patting myself on the back. Realizing that apart from Him, I can do nothing.

I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. (John 15:5, NIV)

©2014 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God Encounters, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

