The Secret to Big Dreams

possibilityHave any big dreams for the new year?

“Dream bigger.” That was Steve Jobs’ advice to a Disney CEO looking to re-invent that company. Inspired, I drafted my New Year’s Resolutions, entitled “Big Dreams for 2014.”

About half-way through the exercise, I heard old tapes playing. Tapes I stored from teachers or well-meaning friends or my self-doubts and insecurities. Tapes with recordings like “Time for a reality check, woman …You can’t do that … You’re a little too old to try [insert dream]” As the tapes played louder, I scratched out a couple of goals and scaled back the dreams. After all, the tapes made a good point.

Elizabeth faced the same circumstance. After she bore her son, John, well-meaning neighbors and kin gasped in horror when she bucked tradition and gave her child a name different from his father’s or anyone else in their family tree.

But Elizabeth and Zechariah stood firm. They refused to name their son anything other than John, what the angel of the Lord declared he should be called. Elizabeth and Zechariah insisted God name their son, their dream that had filled their hearts into old age and well beyond Elizabeth’s child-bearing years. (Luke 1:57-66)

As I read Elizabeth’s story, my old tapes faded until the recording clicked off. I wadded up my scratched-out list, threw it in the trash and took out a clean sheet of paper. After all, Elizabeth made a better point.

Elizabeth found the secret to keeping dreams, goals and resolutions alive. I wrote a new list. And refuse to allow anyone to rename my dreams, especially the ones God places on my heart.

“Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.”  (Ephesians 3:20, NLT)

What big dreams has God laid on your heart for the new year?

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

