It’s the Little Things…

unique-alarms-300The alarm jarred me awake. “Lord, You made this day. Help me be glad and rejoice in it.”

Mishaps plagued me throughout the day. Yet, by evening I saw His hand in each one.

Thank You, Lord, when the garage door failed to open. On the 7th attempt, You lifted it and sent me on my way. You strengthen me to persevere.

Thank You, Lord, for the person who missed the imaginary orange cone I placed in my parking spot at work. He forced me to squeeze an empty space further from the office entrance. Walking the extra distance from car to desk energized me with exercise I missed earlier. Your detours have purpose.

Thank You for draining my watch battery. No longer able to check the time every five minutes, I quit worrying about running late. Lord, can You believe I handled interruptions and still finished every task? Your timing is perfect.

Lastly, thank You, Lord, for slipping the magazine from my hand when I dozed off while relaxing in the tub. Pages soaked, reading was no longer possible, so I went to bed early. You gave me needed rest.In_All_Things_Give_Thanks_Printable1

This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it… Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever. Psalm 118:24, 29 (NIV)

What little thing are you thankful for? Have a marvelous Thanksgiving Day!

*I first published this devotion in The Secret Place, Spring 2012. The actual events took place a year before while we lived in our last home.

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God in Little Things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

