Aged to Perfection

ivgldswdIn my 20’s and 30’s, I viewed aging as falling apart. Now that I’m  … uhhhhh … older, I see that God promised we would age to perfection. The proof was in my medical experiences this month.

The dentist said, “You need a couple of crowns.” After years of faithful brushing and flossing, I could only stare at him in disbelief. Insert heavy sigh and believe what God promised. “He redeems me from death and crowns me with love and tender mercies.” (Psalm 103:4, NLT)

The receptionist from a potential internist floored me. After giving my information to set an annual physical, she said, “I’m sorry, but the doctor doesn’t accept patients your age.” Insert caddy remark because I know God promised, “The righteous will bear fruit in old age, they will stay fresh and green.” (Psalm 92:14, NIV)

The ophthalmologist completed my routine exam. “The bad news is you have the beginning of a cataract. The good news is, it probably won’t cause a problem for 15 years.” Insert disapproving squint of my near-sighted eyes at him and rest on God’s promise to watch over me and “keep me as the apple of [His] eye.” (Psalm 17:8, NIV)

As I dragged my aging body out the last doctor’s door, I squared my shoulders and adopted the motto from International Very Good-Looking, Dang Smart Woman’s Day:

Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, WOO HOO, what a ride!

A body by God. Aged to Perfection.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God's Promises and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aged to Perfection

  1. Sharon Cuff says:

    Gloria, so funny, yet so true! I’m with you in sliding into home plate with chocolate in ine hand and wine in the other. Sharon Cuff

Leave a Reply

