When You’re Out of Ideas … Keep Going

About once a month — sometimes weekly — writing my blog prompts me to declare, “I quit.” Yet, today I celebrate three years of weekly blogs. How does that happen?

I-Quit-in-Scrabble-letters-1024x577The sequence usually goes something like this:

  • Stare at blank screen with blinking cursor and rationalize, I’m done. Out of ideas. Besides, I outlived what I believed would last a year at most.
  • Let temptation to quit pierce my mind.
  • Then, somewhere between last blog and quitting, receive inspiration. Catch a glimpse of God’s Word in action. Let His Spirit connect the experience to Scripture.
  • Write last story.
  • Allow arrows of doubt to follow. The ones that say, “Not good enough. No one will care about that story.”
  • Permit stubborn streak about not wasting time to rule. Publish blog anyway.
  • Next week, return to first step.

Why keep the cycle going? Because somewhere between “Publish blog anyway” and “stare at blank screen,” God showed me a snippet of how He used the blog. Last July was a good example. I reached the quitting point and expressed my intent to do so to a friend and blog follower.

Her response, “Don’t quit. This week’s blog was exactly what I needed to challenge my self-doubt and push forward.” A comment here or an email there, all with the same encouragement, spurred me to give God one more week of blogging. They’re His words and thoughts, anyway. I’m just the conduit.

God called me four years ago to write these stories. Prepping my heart with a friend’s gentle nudging took a year before I put pen to paper and fingers to keyboard. I never believed I had more than a couple dozen stories in me, much less the 150 that now rest on the blog site.

Is there a point where, like me, you’re tempted to give up and quit? Where you doubt you make a difference anyway?  Keep going. When God calls, trust Him to use us for His purpose. Even when we’re out of ideas. Even when the work touches only one person. Keep going.

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.  (Galatians 6:9, NIV)

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Persistence, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When You’re Out of Ideas … Keep Going

  1. SaintlySages says:

    We gladly write an encouraging letter to a friend. We gladly write a blog post, even if it reaches only one person in need. God bless!

  2. jz7dp8 says:

    Gloria, persistence is such an important characteristic for Christians. It seems to be how we learn. Thank you for perservering even when you feel it’s useless. There is a lesson in that as well. It is called hope.

    “Send forth your light and your truth,
    Let them guide me;”
    Psalm 43:3

  3. John & Lois Revell says:

    Have enjoyed all your messages since we moved here 1 1/2 year ago. Thank you! I

  4. Sharon Cuff says:

    Thanks Gloria for keeping up this wonderful blog, that always touches a corner of my heart.

    Sent from my iPad.
    Sharon Cuff, 972-965-2573
    128 Dunford Dr,
    Heath, TX. 75032

Leave a Reply

