Interior Design and Discovering God’s Will

When we moved from Colleyville to Prosper, more than location changed.  Our home’s square footage increased and ceilings grew taller.  A more modern design replaced our wood-paneled, 80’s styled home. A cut up floor plan with solid wall space gave way to an open concept with lots of windows.

int_design_dr_credenzaSound exciting? It was … until I walked throughout the house searching for the perfect spot to hang pictures. That’s when realization struck. Decorating here would require more than a “lift and shift” approach. More than picking up furniture from one home and dropping into the next.

The style of our new residence called for a major transformation in my thinking about how to make this house our home. Scale and style mattered. Some items still worked. Many … not so much. Some … maybe, if rearranged differently.

Discovering God’s will calls for the same transformation in thinking.  A decision to move and walk in the Spirit calls for more than a lift and shift from one lifestyle to the next. Similar interior redesign principles apply. I must …

1.  Reshape my thinking. After suspending old habits and patterns of decorating, I immersed myself in studying websites like Houzz and Pinterest for ideas. I Googled Traditional Home Style Decorating and poured through hundreds of “Before and After” pictures. Likewise, the first step to discovering God’s will is to study His Word and let it reshape my thinking, my interior design. I must suspend current perceptions and ask, What’s the lens through which God views others, circumstances and events I encounter?

2.  Re-tool my approach. Some rooms in my new home lay bare of furniture or décor because at this point I’m unsure how best to use or fill them. As I walk in God’s Spirit, some spiritual “rooms” will evolve faster or slower than others. Some will need to lay bare while I wait on God and ask, How do I apply Your thoughts to my life and circumstances? 

3.  Redirect how I live and respond. Some decorators’ suggestions are bold and very different to my old style, but I’m beginning to see the possibilities. Thinking changed, I make different choices. My thoughts are not God’s thoughts. As I open myself to His Word and Holy Spirit, I begin to see new possibilities. I discover His will, His purpose for my life.

If I am to discover God’s will and how we wants to use me, I must start with reshaping my thinking. And let Him set the pace, perhaps taking  it one spiritual room at a time.

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is — his good, pleasing, and perfect will. (Romans 12:2, NIV)

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Yielding and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interior Design and Discovering God’s Will

  1. Great application, Gloria. We can’t stay the same and expect God to work through us. We should be constantly growing, learning, and changing to become what He has for us to be!

Leave a Reply

