The Comforter

“What do you think you’re doing?!”  the wife demanded an answer from her husband of six months. The one wrapped in the couple’s new $700 comforter as he lazed on the bed, feet propped, drink in hand, and watching a football game.

Startled and confused by her intrusion in his man-cave moment, he hit the mute button. “I don’t know. What? What am I doing?”

His wife yanked the comforter off his reclining body and pronounced, “This is for decoration, not to use!” She smoothed the tangled mess and folded it over the end of the bed.

Searching for words of wisdom from those more tenured in marriage, the young husband shared his story over dinner. Men around the table guffawed in a yes-we’ve-all-been-there tone. The women present stared at the young man with a you-should-know-better look.

Some things are for decoration, not for use. Yet, can we carry that notion too far? Can we miss the full joy of a gift because we don’t use it for the purpose it was intended?

Christ sent to us the Holy Spirit after he paid the high price of dying on the cross. The Spirit’s purpose was to comfort us. To counsel, help, encourage, intercede, and advocate in our behalf. But do we use the Comforter in that manner? Or for decoration only?

I admit that my first-born, I-can-do-it-myself attitude often led me to hold the Comforter at a distance, as a decoration in my life rather than something to use. Until one day circumstances forced me to admit, “This I cannot do alone.” On that day I welcomed the Comforter, and He lifted the yoke of grief from my shoulders.

Now, and every Sunday, that newlywed’s comforter comes to my mind in church when we pass prayer blankets from person to person. Each reads the name for whom the blanket is intended, lifts the individual in prayer, and ties a knot in the fringe.

Someone delivers the blanket to the one named on the card. So, when pain, despair, or fear threaten to swamp the one in need, s/he wraps themselves in the blanket. They experience the Comforter, God’s Holy Spirit, there for them, walking with them, doing for them what they cannot do alone.

These blankets are to use, just like the Holy Spirit is there to use … but only if we invite the Comforter in. In to help, encourage, intercede, and advocate for us. Is there a spot in your life where you could use the Comforter?

As Jesus prepared to leave his disciples, he said, And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you forever. (John 14:16, KJV)

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Gifts from God, Letting Go and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Comforter

  1. vondaskelton says:

    Beautiful analogy, Gloria! I, too, have kept the Comforter at bay, assured of my ability to take care of the problem. What a relief it is when I wrap myself in the Holy Spirit and the Comfort only He can provide!

  2. verna says:

    First time visitor, Gloria! Thank you for this inspiring piece about the Holy Comforter – love it!

Leave a Reply

