Please, Listen

My eyes stared at the page.

Secret Kiss From One Boston Terrier to AnotherBut my mind went AWOL. As it wandered a million miles from the couch where my daughter and I sat to read, she said something I didn’t hear.

“Mmmhmmm.” I answered.

Her four-year-old fingers grabbed each side of my face. She pulled me nose to nose and insisted, “Mommy, please, listen to me.”

Sometimes, I still have that bad habit of dividing my attention. I read at the table during dinner, listen to podcasts while driving, and think of the next thing to say when others talk. I take a book to read in the tub and file my nails or glance through magazines while watching a television program.

When I divide my attention and only half-listen, the inevitable happens. I miss something someone says. I overlook an action that reveals a clue to the character or story. Or I fail to connect the dots and see circumstances in light of a bigger picture.

And therein lies the peril, socially and spiritually, of not staying in the moment and listening. Of letting my mind wander rather than focus, divide rather than attend. That’s when I miss the Holy Spirit’s whispers to my soul.

The answer is as simple as Jessica’s four-year-old response, “Mommy, please, listen to me.”

Today, please listen; don’t turn a deaf ear as in the bitter uprising. (Hebrews 3:15, The Message)

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

 

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Listening to God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

