When Life Wears You Down, Take the Pause that Refreshes:

When I traveled to Tucson several years ago, I joined six other individuals for an excursion through the desert in an open-aired jeep. Decked in a stark white tank top, navy blue shorts, and jean-colored tennies, I slathered my pale legs with no. 30 sunscreen, donned my visor, and grabbed two bottles of water before climbing into the back seat.

Four hours later, I returned with pink cheeks, red kneecaps, and coated with enough sand blasted onto my face and arms to fill a 4’x4′ sandbox for the neighbor’s child. My white top was brown and my navy shorts now ivory.

With those two bottles of water long since consumed and sweated in the 112 degree heat, I staggered into the resort lobby, filthy and desperately thirsty. Someone saved me with an ice-cold glass of refreshing water, and I headed to my room in search of a shower to wash the desert’s grit down the drain.

Life wears me down sometimes as surely as the desert sun exhausted my energy. This week was one of those times.

I entered worship at church dusty, parched, and frazzled from the challenges. Not to mention being drained by the bombardment of world events that reflected disappointment, suffering, and conflict without end.

a toddler drinking water from a garden hoseMy thirsty soul sought the cool water of God’s renewing Spirit.

Melting into the pew, I let the sermon and song drench me in His love. His Spirit reassured me of His presence in all things, renewed me with our Lord’s eternal perspective on this season of life, and reminded me I could trust in His ultimate victory.

I paused, worshipped, and drank in His peace. Then, walked back into the world refreshed.

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. (Psalm 42:1-2, NIV)

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

 

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Persistence, Trusting God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When Life Wears You Down, Take the Pause that Refreshes:

  1. Perfect timing – beautifully written – thank you so much …….

  2. Gloria,

    Your messages are meaty. Your skill at writing makes for an enjoyable read.
    Write on!

Leave a Reply

