The Secret to Delivering Infinitely Better Than Imagined

“Gloria, I can’t thank you enough for your leadership and energy during this assignment. It’s truly special when a leader delivers something back to the team that is infinitely better than anything we could have imagined…and you’ve done just that. Your passion was always evident and was a primary driver of the significant progress we made…”

Nine senior leaders signed a thank you card to me for my work on a special assignment the last seven months.  Four included the word passion in their comment. Two recognized it as energy and enthusiasm. All implied the difference or excitement the work made to those impacted.

flameFor me, the assignment was only a starting point. The secret that pushed me and this project above and beyond expectations was indeed passion.  Passion that intersected with the right need at the right time.

Yet, I cannot take credit for the passion nor the success it rendered. It was not my doing, but that of the Holy Spirit.

I recognize in retrospect the source of the burning desire that drove me forward. It started as a spark in my youth when I accepted Christ and in my young adulthood when His Spirit called me to teach.

He fed the spark over the years. God’s Spirit took my formless and empty shape and brooded over me as He brooded over the waters of creation. He pushed and pulled me along through the winds of time, weaving my experiences and circumstances — sometimes to unexpected places or places I did not want to go. Until, at last, they flowed together into this project.

His Spirit breathed on the spark until it grew into a bonfire of passion. His Spirit did for me what I could never do alone.

God’s Spirit works the same with each of us whether we recognize it or not. Behind every worthy assignment that returns something infinitely better than anyone could imagine is passion. And behind the passion is God’s Holy Spirit at work. The glory goes to God.

Where’s the Holy Spirit fanning the flames of passion in you? Follow. You’re in for quite the experience.

When the day of Pentecost came, …They saw what seemed to be tongues of fire that separated and came to rest on each of them. All of them were filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in tongues as the Holy Spirit enabled them. (Acts 2:1-4, NIV)

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

 

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God Encounters and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Secret to Delivering Infinitely Better Than Imagined

  1. Joy says:

    Hi Gloria – this is a valuable thought. Yesterday I served in the Toddler Room at church. They are not as organized as our Preschool Room where I usually go. I felt a little sad they weren’t hearing about Jesus, so I started reading one of the stories to a few – with passion – and sure enough four more gathered around and started pointing to the pictures and exclaiming. I realized they heard the passion in my voice and were attracted to it. It was the Holy Spirit!

Leave a Reply

