How Do You Get Rid of Weeds?

“Give it up,” Jim suggested in the middle of my back-breaking, muscle straining weed pulling. “We’ll fertilize and the grass will choke the weeds.”

article-new_ehow_images_a08_17_nv_weed-yard-800x800“You’re just being lazy and don’t want to help me.” Sarcasm and sweat dripped off my brow as I uprooted another intruder.

 After Jim disappeared into the garage, the next door neighbor chased his two-year old down the side-walk to where I squatted and dug in the dirt.

“Weeds, huh?” he commented. “We had that problem, too, when we first moved in. We let the grass choke them out.” I peered around the neighbor’s  two-year old and envied his weedless lawn.

“Yeah, I heard that somewhere.” Five buckets of johnsongrass and henbit later, I broke for lunch. Wanting also to justify my time and effort,  I grabbed my gardening bible, Neil Sperry’s Complete Guide to Texas Gardening. In the middle of page 264, the lawn prophet wrote, Even the best lawns have weeds. They’re as inevitable in Texas landscapes and gardens as dry soil and bugs.

So, how do I get rid of the weeds? I read the most common question.

Sperry’s answer, For starters, don’t pull them.

He followed with a list of possible weed killers, and ended his advice on page 269, Rule of Green Thumb: The best weed killers of all may be a bag of lawn fertilizer and a functioning lawn sprinkler. Vigorous turf discourages weeds. Translation … healthy grass can choke out weeds. Dang.

Weeds are inevitable. Not just in lawns, but in God’s kingdom here on earth. Murders, robberies, cheating, and threats of nuclear attacks  … the news pummels our senses every day with the weeds of society … the roots of which lie within our human, self-centered hearts. Weeds like pride, prejudice, fear, and selfishness.

So, how do we get rid of the weeds? Jesus offered Neil Sperry’s same advice in a parable. A farmer planted good seed, but the enemy sowed weeds among the wheat. The servants asked the farmer, “Do you want us to go and pull up the weeds?” The farmer replied, “No, you might root up the wheat with them. Let both grow together. At the harvest I will separate the weeds and burn them.”

So, as I scan my neighbor’s lawn, I know weeds must lurk even there. Because weeds are inevitable. And, I decide to follow His advice. To feed, water, and mow the grasses of my soul and enable vigorous turf. One that chokes out weeds with good seed. The rest, I’ll have to leave to God’s harvest and purpose.

The kingdom of heaven is like a man who sowed good seed in his field. But while everyone was sleeping, his enemy came and sowed weeds among the wheat, … The servants asked him, “Do you want us to go and pull them up?” “No,” he answered. “because while you are pulling the weeds, you may root up the wheat with them. Let both grow together until the harvest.” (Matthew 13:24-25, 28-30, NIV)

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Kingdom of God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How Do You Get Rid of Weeds?

  1. Pingback: Why? | Glimpses of God by Gloria Ashby

  2. Joy says:

    I like this Gloria. Especially how you tied it in with Jesus saying letting both grow together. I’ve been too concerned about looking at myself and wanting to pull bad attitudes out of my life. If I fill some gaps with good things from God, I bet those selfish thoughts and grouchy moods will get choked out by the joy of the Lord and gratitude. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

