Harnessing Polar Bear Power

I shivered as a breeze off the bay water whipped through my light jacket. I hadn’t expected San Francisco’s spring weather to start the day with such cool mornings. And for a cold-natured, Texas gal whose fingernails were turning blue and lips quivering, I was downright freezing as Jim and I walked along the quiet shore on the first day of our vacation.

“You could be colder,” Jim teased. “Like those guys.” I followed his finger pointing to a group of people huddled on the pier that jutted over the water. They wore only tights, tank tops and … what was that on their heads? Swim caps?

baykeeper-50The thought hardly registered in my frozen brain when someone in the group blew a whistle and the entire tangle of barely covered bodies plunged into the bay. The polar bear swim club was in session.

No toe-testing the frigid waves first. No wading or slowly lowering one’s body to become accustomed to icy water. They just threw their whole selves into the bay and swam.

This week I remembered the polar bear club as I approached challenges ahead. In some cases, I still watched from the sidelines, not ready to commit. In others I realized I waded into the waters only to my knees. With arms crossed and holding my sides, I pondered whether to venture any further.

Paul’s words to the Corinthians grabbed me by the shoulders, looked me in the eye, and said,

… in a single victorious stroke of Life, all three — sin, guilt, and death — are gone, the gift of our Master, Jesus Christ. Thank God. With all this going for us, … don’t hold back. Throw yourselves into the work of the Master, confident that nothing you do for him is a waste of time and effort. (1 Corinthians 15:58, The Message)

And that is what Christ’s life, death and resurrection did for me, for us. He gave His life in exchange for our freedom to be the children God created us to be, to throw our whole selves into whatever He called us to do.

So, I re-commit to those things God has called me to. I plunge from the pier and join the polar bear swim club in session.

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Yielding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Harnessing Polar Bear Power

  1. vondaskelton says:

    Beautifully written, Gloria. Great reminder. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

