Picking the Right Building Materials

IMG_0185
“That’s not what I chose.” The accent tile installed in our master bath was not what we picked at the design center. I selected an olive green to contrast the wheat-colored foundation. Instead, pink and blue iridescent tiles sparkled in the sunlight. “That won’t work,” I commented to the builder.

“Oh.” He wrote a note on his clipboard with the inspection checklist. “I’ll see what happened. The tile setter will have to tear them out and replace them with the right ones.” Two weeks later, four rows of 1″x1″ green glass tiles accented the walls.

While building a life on the foundation God set for me in Christ, I realize that I, too, have had to tear out a few wrong choices. Choices of materials with inferior quality or poor fit. Choices that didn’t work with the life and purpose God pointed me toward.

I had to cut away pride in accomplishments and give credit to the Savior as the source of all things. To exchange my plans for His. Trade my striving to reach “top dog” perfection with an embrace of God’s place for me in His creation. I had to tear away my vision for success and view events from His eternal perspective.

Unlike my master bath tiles, this tearing away and replacing wrong materials is never-ending. It’s slow and tedious and sometimes painful. I thank God and you, dear friends, for your patience and grace.

I wonder what I will need to tear away in 2013 to ensure I am building according to plan on the foundation Christ laid? To embrace the words He gave me for this year, “Let Me set the pace.”

Remember, there is only one foundation, the one already laid: Jesus Christ. Take particular care in picking out your building materials. Eventually there is going to be an inspection … If your work passes inspection, fine; if it doesn’t, your part of the building will be torn out and started over. (I Cor 3:10-15, Message)

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Trusting God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Picking the Right Building Materials

  1. Sarah Perkins says:

    Hello, Gloria!

    I couldn’t help but wonder: are you building at Drees Villas at Volterra (we are, and we have a cabinet full of building materials very similar to yours! Our house will be ready end of June. Obviously, your house is much further along. Maybe we will be neighbors.

    Blessings, Sarah Perkins

  2. vondaskelton says:

    Great analogy, Gloria! Thanks for sharing it. Yes, it’s an ongoing process, and one I don’t always look forward to…even though I know He knows what’s best for me.

Leave a Reply

