What to Keep and What to Toss

Friends warned me. “When you move, you’ll purge before AND after the moving van unloads.

Before our move, we tossed, gave away and left behind: furniture we wouldn’t use, things we intended to repair but never did, and things we hadn’t used in ten years and probably never would. Items like the coral-colored vinyl placemats, torn but kept just in case. Just in case what, who knows since I forgot I still had them.

IMG_0312After our move, what we needed is unboxed and furniture arranged. So, why do I still have a garage full of stuff? Why can’t I get into my car without climbing through a window or crawling over boxes to squeeze through a two-inch opening of the car door?

I purged truck-loads before we moved. So why is there more stuff to toss? I finally figured it out. I am in transition. And I underestimated the extent of change from the old to the new.

I underestimated how some of the old looks dated and worn in its new surroundings. How different the layout of the rooms and style of cabinetry and floors contrasts to my furnishings.

In the throes of transition, I now have to go deeper. I made the easy decisions before the move. Now come the tougher ones. What fits this new home and what doesn’t. What to keep and what to toss.

Joshua and the Israelites faced a similar situation as they readied to cross the Jordan River into the Promised Land. What to keep and what to toss.

They had wandered 40 years tossing off the shackles of slavery in Egypt. In those 40 years of transition, they had to trade idols for one God. Dependence on their Egyptian masters for trust in a heavenly Father. And living isolated, self-centered lives for living in community with others.

Moses had died and was not coming back. His work was done and the people had what they needed to take the next step across Jordan. And God told them what to keep as they moved into the new land:

“Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go … Then you will be prosperous and successful … Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:7-9 NIV)

So, I head back to a garage full of stuff. And sort what to toss and what to keep for the next leg of my journey into whatever land God has planned for me.

What transitions are you facing in 2013? What will you keep? What old will you toss?

©2013 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Letting Go, Preparation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What to Keep and What to Toss

  1. lyndieb says:

    I’m pretty much in the same boat, been purging for 3 years. Now my parents have moved in with minimal stuff while we work toward a place where we can live together. So much to go through, toss and store to stage the house etc. Makes me wonder if it will ever be finished….

    • Gloria Ashby says:

      Hang in there, Lyndie! This too will pass. Staging our last home helped me purge some more. I liked the new look, less cluttered lok, and hope to keep that new spartan style for awhile!

  2. Trish says:

    Thank you Gloria! always your post are an inspiration…this one especially so for me also..since I have gone thru a transition in this past year…and am continually changing in readiness for the next leg of my journey of life on Earth. Blessings and much Happiness in your new home. Trish

    >________________________________ > From: Glimpses of God by Gloria Ashby >To: pagale_2000@yahoo.com >Sent: Sunday, January 13, 2013 6:31 PM >Subject: [New post] What to Keep and What to Toss > > WordPress.com >Gloria Ashby posted: “Friends warned me. “When you move, you’ll purge before AND after the moving van unloads. Before our move, we tossed, gave away and left behind: furniture we wouldn’t use, things we intended to repair but never did, and things we hadn’t used in ten yea” >

Leave a Reply

