The Gift

About twelve years ago this week,  my friend, Gina, came by my office and handed me a beautifully wrapped gift.

IMG_0298The bow and paper fell away to reveal a snow globe music box on a pedestal-shaped stage. Inside the globe, a delicate ballerina sat on a soft-cushioned stool, readying herself to dance. I gave the globe a shake, and the snow fell gently around the ballerina to the tune of Swan Lake.

“I love it. But, what made you think of me when you saw it?”

“This is how you make me feel,” Gina said. “When we work together, you let me be myself. You let me try crazy ideas and join me even though it’s out of your comfort zone. You never try to change who I am.” She paused, then whispered, “You let me dance.”

As I packed my snow globe for its journey to our new home, I smiled with visions of friends and family who have let me dance.

Sunday School classmates who saw a teaching “gene” in me and kept after me to prepare lessons. Jennifer, my writing friend, who nudged and applauded my first attempts at a blog. The Super Scribes writing group who cheered me onward to submit stories for publication. Fellow Christian Communicators graduates who noticed the funny lady inside the reserved one.

Then there’s the leaders at work who said “You’re the right person with the right experience for this project.” My younger sister, who forgave my teenage bossiness and voiced encouragement whenever I tried something new. My husband, who didn’t say “no” but “let’s think about it” when I drew plans for my latest decorating binge.

And the list goes on with friends, family, and peers who let me be me. Who let me dance my Swan Lake.

Over two thousand years ago, God sent His Son into this world to free us from sin and give us the freedom to live as He created us to live. He sent His Son so that we could each dance our own version of Swan Lake.

So, as we celebrate the season of His birth, I hope you will take time to dance.

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance…(Psalm 139:14-16, NKJV)

©2012 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Christmas stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Gift

  1. Joy says:

    As I realize more and more how God has made a new way for me to be righteous – by faith and not by “shoulds,” I see that He actually wants my mind set free from worry and fear so that I can paint, write, speak and yes, laugh. Galatians 3:21 says “For if a law had been given that could impart life, then righteousness would certainly have come by the law.” But no! We are set free in Jesus. Thanks for repeating this good news, Gloria. Glory to God in the highest.

  2. Debbie says:

    Love the message, but can’t get past where you admit I’m the younger sister. Hallelujah! The truth is out and I have it in writing. Love you, Debbie

Leave a Reply

