Don’t Go It Alone

“What words of advice do you have for me,” I asked a senior leader about my new assignment.

“Don’t go it alone,” he said. “Let’s stay connected and let me know if you need anything. I’m here to help.”

In those few words, Jesus reached through the phone lines and massaged the tension I carried in my shoulder blades. I drew in a deep breath to halt the shallow ones and eased from the edge of my chair into the natural curves of its back.

Only one week into the announcement about my new project and I already tackled it like Sesame Street’s Ernie in the popular childhood book, I Can Do It Myself! But I couldn’t.

The next two phone calls, one from another leader and one from a peer, delivered the same message, “We’re here if you need us. Just ask.” Words of support.

Jesus comforted his disciples with similar words as he prepared them for his death, “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.” (John 14:18, NIV) The Father would send a Helper, the Holy Spirit, to guide us to discern right from wrong, equip us for the work to which He called us, and help us accomplish it.

When would help come? Jesus promised whenever I leaned on Him and asked. “If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you.” (John 15:7, NIV) Christ advised,  “Don’t go it alone.”

The same Thursday evening of the three phone calls, I arrived at home and settled in a chair to read the church newspaper. There on page 3 was an advertisement for the women’s conference, Among Friends, that my sister and I would attend Friday and Saturday. My mouth fell open when I saw the logo in the lower left hand corner,

For just a moment I imagined Jesus’ two hands pressed against my cheeks. His eyes pierced my soul, and his soft voice asked, “Do you hear me now? You don’t have to go it alone.”

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.” (Matthew 7:7-8, NIV)

P.S. If you missed Kathy Troccoli’s Among Friends conference at White’s Chapel UMC this weekend, you missed a uplifting time among friends. Kathy, Ellie Lofaro and Carol Kent delivered powerful messages that resonated with the ever-present Christ  and the promise that we never have to go it alone. Check out the website for future locations: http://amongfriendsconference.com

©2012 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Trusting God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

