When (Not) to Play Hide-and-Seek with God

“God didn’t put us here on earth to play hide-and-seek, but to walk closely with Him and share in the unfolding story of His kingdom.”  ~Tammy Maltby, The God Who Sees You.

But I enjoyed hide-and-seek.  Especially when I wanted to be left alone. I hid in the bathroom and locked the door. Then I sunk deep into warm bubble bath waters up to my chin, closed my eyes, and tuned out the world. For about 2 minutes before…

Tap, tap, tap. Tap, tap, tap.

Maybe if I’m very quiet, they’ll go away. Just give me 10 more minutes.

Tap, tap, tap.  “Mommy? Mommy, I want you,” my 3 year-old daughter’s voice pleaded from the other side of the door. Deep inhale, slow exhale. Stand up, grab a towel to wrap around my bubbled body, and open the door.

“Okay, Jessica. Let’s play hide and seek. You found me. Now it’s your turn to hide and I’ll seek.”

She flashed me her impish grin, before turning to patter down the hallway and into her room.

I counted aloud to ten, and then warned her, “Ready or not, here…”

Before I could finish and duck back into the bathroom to finish my bath, Jessica darted out of her hiding place and raced towards me. She lunged at my legs, wrapped her arms around my knees, and giggled, “Here I am, Mommy.”

I needed to heed the lesson from Jessica. A month before my vacation, people asked what I was doing with my days off. I was tempted to hide behind a vague story. Like catching up on household chores, or visiting family, or reading.  Not totally misleading.

But then Tammy Maltby’s quote stopped me mid-paragraph. I was doing it again. Hiding from God. Feeling insignificant and afraid to push forward. To say out loud what God prompted me to do with this vacation. After all, what if I heard wrong. Or failed. Or returned unchanged.

So, like Jessica, who couldn’t wait to be found, I came out of hiding. I ran to the Father and thanked Him for the opportunity to attend the Christian Communicators Conference. To develop the speaker and teacher in me. Rather than hide, to declare, “Here I am, Lord. Send me.”

When was there a time you played hide-and-seek and hid from God? What happened?

I haven’t learned all I should even yet, but I keep working toward the day when I will finally be all that Christ saved me for and wants me to be. (Philippians 3:12, TLB)

©2012 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Managing Change, Uncategorized, Yielding and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When (Not) to Play Hide-and-Seek with God

  1. Glenda Mills says:

    Gloria,
    Love your blogsite and love the fact you took the risk and went to CCC. Now you’re my sister and friend and I pray we will meet some day. You are a little ahead of me…I think I’m up to #60 with my blogs….You’re a great writer. Keep bloggin for Jesus. You are invited to visit my blogsite at http://www.glendamills.com
    Blessings to you

  2. I’m glad you went, too. And glad I went.

    I’m surprised that you were not telling people you were going to the conference. heh heh why do we always think everyone else has it together and we’re the only ones who are hiding?

    It was very hard for me to tell the ladies on the women’s ministry team at church that I wanted to speak. But a couple of days after the conference I did tell and within a week I was scheduled to speak.

    • Gloria Ashby says:

      Good for you, Sally! I think our imagination runs away with us and really some fears can be unfounded. We don’t find that out until we come out of hiding. So glad you did, too!

  3. Gloria Ashby says:

    Vonda,
    I’m so glad I came, too!

  4. Gloria Ashby says:

    And I’m so glad you came to Christian Communicators Conference, Gloria! What a blessing you were to all of us! Vonda Skelton

Leave a Reply

