How Do I Know God’s Will?

How do I know God’s will is for me to attend this speaker’s conference? In my last blog, I mentioned how I pushed past doubts to register for the Christian Communicator’s Conference. Yet, when bios of attendees appeared in my email, doubt reared its ugly head again. How could I count myself among such experienced, focused women who clearly defined their ministries and spoke for God?

Then an attendee asked me to room with her. Ahhh, God’s will. He wants me at that conference after all. I responded yes — twice. She never received my emails, and by the third time I contacted her, she had accepted another’s invitation to share a room.

There was still time to cancel and retrieve my deposit. I mulled over the possibility and the list of attendees. Beside one name on the last page, I had penciled a note to myself — Roommate?

Kristi and I shared connections. She was a substitute teacher, lived in Iowa, and wrote devotions. My degree was in secondary education, my family lived in Des Moines for three years, and I wrote devotions, too.

Kristi agreed we should room together and wrote,  “Gloria, my reservations are with Delta. After a layover in Atlanta, Flight #5322 to Asheville. And you?”

“Wow. After a layover in Atlanta, Delta flight #5322 to Asheville. My seat is 7B. And yours?”

“7C.”

Three coincidences spoke God’s handiwork and His will with Kristi, me, and the Christian Communicators Conference. First, He paved the way for two people with similar backgrounds to link together at the same conference the same year. And those same two people who made reservations at different times with different agents wound up on the same flight and sitting next to each other. A fourth coincidence surfaced when we met … Kristi’s daughter is Lauren. Mine is Jessica Lauren. What are the chances?

Sometimes God speaks His will through unlikely circumstances. He uses them to nudge us that we’re on the right path. As with Kristi and me, God uses holy coincidences to shape us for His plan and glory.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not to your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6, NKJV)

What are some times in which God spoke direction or decision into your life through coincidences or circumstances?

©2012 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God Encounters, Listening to God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Do I Know God’s Will?

  1. Carol Weeks says:

    I read once that “coincidence” is God’s middle name. Isn’t it wonderful that God loves us so much that He sets up these coincidences for us to marvel at? I’m glad you and Kristi both were at the conference. I learned so much from everybody there…

  2. I love this, Gloria. What a cool story.

    God is the king over coincidences.

    I never know God’s will for me. I’ve never felt called to write a particular book or attend a particular conference. I usually just walk forward, asking God to slam doors or open them as he sees fit. Not the best plan, perhaps, as I’ve gotten many a smashed nose, 🙂 And I probably have missed some open doors as I’ve been walking into the shut doors. But I just don’t know how else to do it.

    It’s very cool when you get affirmation, later, though, to assure you that you’re on the right path. I’m glad you went to the conference. 🙂

Leave a Reply

