Hold Fast by Jennifer Mersberger

Today’s post is my first guest blog, which I will do periodically to introduce you to some of my friends and fellow writers. This one is by Jennifer Mersberger.  I hope you enjoy her practical wisdom and sighting of God in ordinary moments as much as I do…

While sipping coffee from my travel mug, I sit in a long, twisting line of cars all waiting for a train to cross. From my vantage point I can see the end of the train and there are only about 15 or 20 boxcars still to come, so I relax for a minute and begin flipping through a little daily devotional that I keep in the center console of my car.

A woman in a small SUV several cars ahead of me must have gotten tired of waiting and decided to just turn around. I thought this was rather odd because we hadn’t been waiting very long and, as she drove past glancing at her watch, I watched the end of the train go through the crossing.

If she would have only waited, she would be moving forward by now heading in the right direction. Instead she will be going several miles out of her way to find another crossing that will get her to the other side of the tracks. All because she couldn’t bear the wait!

I can’t help but think of all the times I’ve been that woman. Instead of holding fast and having faith, I lose my patience and try to find a short cut. All the while I miss out on the blessing that God provides when I wait on Him. By the way…God really dislikes short cuts, it’s not His thing!

Have you ever made more work for yourself because you were impatient? In the end, did it turn out your way or God’s way? You would think by now we would understand that when God says ‘Wait…’ there’s a reason. That means He’s up to something and it is usually for our benefit and His glory.  I know the ‘train’ can seem so long and be painfully slow, but have faith that no matter what you’re going through, the train will pass and the blessing will come!

“I waited patiently for the LORD; He turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the LORD.” Psalm 40:1-3

To read more from Jennifer, visit her website at www.lamplightministry.com

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Managing Change, Patience, Trusting God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hold Fast by Jennifer Mersberger

  1. Love that! Sometimes waiting is scary–but waiting also builds character. And I need that 🙂

Leave a Reply

