What if God wrote you a letter

“Write a letter … you will open in six months. Include your current accomplishments and concerns, and remind yourself of one thing from today that you want to make sure ‘future you’ does not forget.” Writer’s Digest suggested the exercise. God dictated the letter to my heart that day about the two weeks I taught a class on Angels. He didn’t want me to forget …

My dear child, Gloria,

Remember today and the class member who said she returned this week to hear more about My angels. She returned because you delivered the lesson I asked of you. It inspired her to hunger for understanding she needs in her faith journey.

Remember the shiver that tingled your spine. It came the moment you noticed the “aha” from others about when I sent My angels to hug, feed, save and guide them.

Don’t forget the email another sent you about her sharing this lesson with a friend. It put words to that friend’s experience in which I sent a guardian angel to pull her son through a medical crisis. You see, I have plans for that young man. And his mother needed a reminder that I am always with her.

Remember today, my child, and how you got here. From inception, I imagined you to teach. I fashioned your nature to take little at face value and ask lots of questions — though sometimes to the point of irritation to others — and to labor at understanding what I mean and how I work. I shaped your childhood and adulthood to equip you to fulfill this purpose. Then, I waited for you to hear Me calling.

Recall how you quickly accepted My Spirit’s nudge to teach today. Excuses forgotten, you didn’t ignore My invitation like you did while I hounded you across the Midwest and back to Texas until you agreed to join Me in leading a Bible study. Remember the confidence and power I gave you to deliver the lesson. Those feelings were absent in your early years of teaching when you believed you had to do it all alone.

Remember today, my child. You tasted the fruit of my Spirit that abounds when you obey. See what I can do when you let Me lead you along the path I created for you. Seldom will it be an easy path, but always one where I will bless you in the end with a heartfelt “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

Love and blessings always,

God, the Father

Question: What would your letter say? What’s the one thing from today that God wants “future you” to remember in 2012?

For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases Him. (Philippians 2:13, NLT)

©2011 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Angels, God's Faithfulness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

