Is Santa Real?

“Mom, Is Santa real? My friend said Santa’s really you and Daddy.”

Darn that Grinch. How dare he steal the miracle of Christmas from my nine-year-old daughter and me. From me, anyway. She, on the other hand, sounded like police sergeant Joe Friday on a fact-finding mission with a Dragnet suspect. “Just the facts, ma’am. Just the facts.”

We rested on our queen-sized bed, staring at the ceiling and chatting about the upcoming holiday. Legs bent at the knees, my daughter crossed her right leg over her left knee and swung her foot back and forth. “Well, Mom?”

“Yes,” I said, “Santa is real. He lives in our hearts.”

“So, you mean no real Santa, right? You and Daddy leave the presents under the tree.”

“Daddy and I work for Santa.” I refused to let go of the mystery.

“But, he’s not a flesh-and-blood person living now, right?” she persisted.

Cornered and not wanting to lie, I relented. I now disliked her friend a lot.

A pregnant pause followed as my only child pondered her new information. Then, she turned her head toward me. Brows knitted and lips pursed, she said, “I suppose now you’re going to tell me there’s no Easter bunny, either.”

Short pause before I answered, “No, I’m not.”

As the spirit of Santa … and the Easter bunny … still lives in our hearts, so does the Spirit of Christ. Emmanuel. God with us always. The miracle of Christmas lives on.

“We have received…the Spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that have been freely given to us by God.” (1 Corinthians 2:12, NKJV)

Note: I’ll post my next blog on Sunday, January 8

©2011 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Christmas stories, Hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

