One Promise

I imagine all of us have experienced them at one time or another … broken promises. Some unfulfilled on purpose. Others unintentionally. A few, we may still hold out hope to be kept. This Thanksgiving season I am thankful God keeps His promise…

I remember times of grief and loneliness from broken relationships. But I also remember thirty-five years ago this month, standing at God’s altar with the man who promised to have me, hold me and love me. And he has, even when I fall short of the Proverbs 31 “wife of noble character.”

Twenty-nine years ago, I remember standing by a baby crib, amazed that the tiny bundle sleeping there was my newborn daughter, and I was the one holding her and taking her home.

And then sixteen years later when I stood trembling at the window after she promised to drive safely as she backed out of the garage and onto the streets solo for the first time.

I remember standing in disbelief when I didn’t get the promotion I was certain was rightfully mine, but later standing in my new employer’s office, stunned yet thrilled with the “better-than-I-could-ever-imagine” opportunity that opened up to me.

I remember standing at the foot of my father’s bed when the doctor said he had a disabling heart condition but could live four to five years if he took care of himself.

Then, I remember standing at the foot of his grave, but seventeen years later, and flooded by the precious time and memories God gifted me since his diagnosis.

I could name hundreds more examples. Through every twist or turn in life, in joy and sorrow, mountain or valley, I realized I stood on one promise. I still stand on it today.

God’s promise of His faithfulness.

In the words of R. Kelso Carter’s beloved hymn, I am…

Standing on the promises that cannot fail,                                                                                 when the howling storms of doubt and fear assail,                                                                       by the living Word of God I shall prevail,                                                                                      standing on the promises of God.

“I am with you, and I will protect you wherever you go. One day I will bring you back to this land. I will not leave you until I have finished giving you everything I have promised you.” (Genesis 28:15, NLT)

©2011 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God's Faithfulness, God's Promises and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

