3 Steps to More Memory

After the mountaintop experience of completing graduate school, life presented new challenges the size of Kilimanjaro. I faced losses and changes for which I had no
“memory” or history of how to tackle. No past experiences from which to draw and spiritual roots grew too shallow to nourish the emptiness. I traveled through territory foreign to me, and I didn’t know the lay of the land nor its language. Help came through an unexpected source.

The 17-page PowerPoint deck included complex charts to make the business case. I clicked to print in color. Instead of finding the presentation on the printer, I found a single white page with the following message: “This job requires more memory than is available in this
printer.”

Well, of course it does, I thought sarcastically. My situation requires more memory than I
have available, too, but how do I fix this problem?
As I read further, the printer message suggested three steps. I realized they worked in life, too.

1.  “For output, choose Optimize for Portability.” Translation: choose Right Resource to Carry Me Through. I never squared off against this set of circumstances before now, but I had faced rugged times. I leaned harder on God then and could trust Him now. And each time, I ended with more faith “memory” because He never abandoned me.

2.  “Reduce the number of fonts in the document.” Translation: simplify. The deck’s layout was as complicated as my life. Like the man who found treasure in a field and
sold all he possessed to buy it (John 13:44), I needed to shed activities that stood in the way of intimacy with the God, to rid myself of burdensome thoughts and material “gods” and focus on the only important thing — my relationship with the Father.

3.  “Print the document in parts.” Translation: take one step at a time. One day at a time. Like walking in the dark with a flashlight, I see only where to take the next step until, at last, I’m at my destination. Trust God the same way.

“Everything we are dumped down into is a means of securing knowledge of Jesus.” (Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest, July 11) Translation: Every problem is opportunity to create more memory of God walking with me through it. Nowadays, when I’m dumped into new things or complicated situations, I recall His message on my printer.

When you see the ark of the covenant of the Lord your God,…you are to move out
from your positions and follow it. Then you will know which way to go, since you have never been this way before.
(Joshua 3:3-4, NIV)

©2011 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Trusting God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

