When God Manages My Time

The day spread out before me like a fresh blanket of snow not yet marred with footprints or tire tracks. Calendar clear, time was mine to wrap up tasks before vacation in two days.

The first footprints to spoil my schedule appeared at 7 AM. As I headed for work, I read the message, “Please attend the AM operations call to discuss plans for handling heavier-than-usual call volume.” No problem. I’ll listen in while driving. The first fifteen minutes covered yesterday’s performance before the organizer introduced the added topic. All I heard was, “Let’s discuss….” when I entered the parking garage. The call dropped from a broken signal. Grrrrr. Had I wasted time on the call. Lord, what are You up to today?

The phone was ringing when I unlocked and walked into my office. Because of anticipated questions from a client, a business partner asked how the phone center performed yesterday. I answered every question with information shared on the 7 AM call. Lord, You know the future and equip me for it.

By 8:00 AM, more footprints tracked across my once clear calendar. “Gloria, will you join us to brainstorm solutions?” The initial request was for five of my associates, trained today to take another function’s calls tomorrow. Impossible. Yet by noon, I found six qualified
volunteers to accept the challenge. Plus five more to slide into the gap left by the six. Lord, Your strength helps me face overwhelming odds.

But, the crisis wasn’t over. I imagined more tire tracks plowing through the remainder of my day because I now wrestled with getting the right systems access for the six. The tech guru, who could set it up quickly, attended an all-day event three floors away, so the chore would be left to me who wasn’t sure where to start. Taking a calming breath, I stepped outside the office to grab lunch before tackling the problem and bumped smack into…who
else?…the tech guru on lunch break. Within twenty minutes, he entered the systems access request. Lord, You always provide the right resources at the exact moment needed.

Weary from a schedule now muddied by unforeseen events, I walked back into my office to salvage what remained of the day. Just as I pulled out my chair, the phone rang again. What now? Then, I smiled, recognizing the number. My daughter called during her one break in the day to chat. Lord, You warm my heart with renewed energy.

Lord, what are You up to today? With two hours left on my once clear calendar, I relaxed and relinquished those, too, to the One who controlled my time. I’m not sure how this day fit His eternal agenda, but I trust He knows. Where is God working in your day?

Jesus said to them, “My Father is always at His work to this very day, and I, too, am working.” (John 5:17, NIV)

©2011 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion inits entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

 

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God Encounters and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When God Manages My Time

  1. ginasjewels says:

    I really enjoyed this post! Keep ’em coming.

Leave a Reply

