Are My Loyalties Divided?

“Ma’am, can you hear me? Hello?” I peered at my cell phone screen. Yep, we’re connected. Yet, the person I called interrupted me and answered my question before I finished saying it.

She asked me, “Does that answer your question?”

“No, not completely.  I’m trying to…”

“Hello? Hello?” came the voice on the other end. “Are you still there?”

“Yes, can you hear me?” I asked.

“Hello? I guess she hung up,” the lady mumbled right before I heard a click, then the dial tone.

I called back. We repeated this same conversation three times before I realized I’d hit the “mute” button on my cell phone.

The Israelites placed God on “mute,” too. They called upon Him for deliverance and God answered through the prophets, summoning His people to repentance. They turned back for brief moments but soon muted Him again, returning to their idol worship and self-absorbed lives. God spoke, but His children turned a deaf ear toward Him.

That mute button is a marvelous invention when used correctly. Like when I join a conference call while eating lunch but don’t want others to hear me chomping my apple. Or when traveling and I don’t want traffic noise to disrupt a conference call I have on speakerphone.

However, using the mute button to multi-task can lead to embarrassment, such as when I’m tempted to mute callers while I read email or work on a report I need to complete. I thought I could split my concentration in two directions. Unfortunately, “Gloria, what do you think?” jerked my attention back to the phone, and forced me to confess I had no idea what they were talking about.

I’ve done the same with God. Sometimes I muted Him when I didn’t want to do what He asked or serve where He sent me. Other times I accidentally placed Him on mute while intent upon expressing what I wanted. I was so fixated on me that I didn’t hear Him.

Nowadays, I’m more judicious about the mute button. I leave it off to focus on the conversation at hand, to stay in the moment and in communion with Him. I don’t want to miss what He says.

Come close to God, and God will come close to you. Wash your hands, you sinners,
purify your hearts, for your loyalty is divided between God and the world.”
(James 4:8, NLT)

©2011 Gloria Ashby. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including
this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail.

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Listening to God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are My Loyalties Divided?

  1. Jacque Dodson says:

    Gloria,
    This devotion is great… very “up to date”. I’m afraid I’m guilty.
    Thanks for including me.

    Jacque

Leave a Reply

