I Must Be On My Way

“Should we keep going or stop?”

The question hung heavy in the air like dulling wine. Organizational change cast doubt on the future, and the project team reached a crossroads. Would new leaders still fund the effort? With resistance already evident, was the group wasting time? Was the project still worthy of expended energy? Should we keep going? Or stop until the unknowns could be known?

Silence fell over the group. Some eyes cast downward. Others darted towards the window, searching for the answer among the trees rising above the lake outside the conference room. A lone voice braved the response.

“Our work is about serving customers. Our purpose hasn’t changed. We keep going.” And so, we did.

Christ once stood at a crossroads, too. Pharisees mounted their case against him. They tried to trap him with loaded questions. They accused him of breaking holy laws and Sabbath. When those ploys didn’t work, they attempted to discredit him as a blasphemer. Finally they threatened, “Leave this place and go somewhere else. Herod wants to kill you.” (Luke 13:31, NIV)

Jesus faced challenge after challenge, resistance on top of more resistance, all trying to prevent him from reaching his destination, from fulfilling the purpose to which his Father called him.

Christ’s response? “I must keep going today and tomorrow and the next day.”

So, His Spirit reminds me…Life changes daily. I can’t do things today that I used to do with ease. Real barriers may stand in my way—like stiff and creaky joints, people who see things differently than I do, unforeseen events that slow me down, or burdensome circumstances. Some challenges are easily surmountable, while others are more perilous.

Should I stop or go forward? My answer must be that of Christ. I am called to serve a purpose and must not run away or quit when part way there. I must do as the author
of Hebrews suggested, “…let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” (Hebrews 12:1)

I must be on my way.

He [Christ] replied,…”In any case, I must keep going today and tomorrow and the next day…”  (Luke 13:33, NIV)

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Overcoming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

