Preparing a Place

            Crunch time! “T” minus 3 weekends and five days before Jessica and Gabe tie the knot. “Mom, I want to prepare so everything is perfect when Gabe and the boys move in. Can you and Dad help? Can you be here Saturday by 10 AM?”

            Jim and I arrived ahead of schedule. Jessica greeted us with a quick peck on the cheek before hustling us off to the kitchen. Three single steno pages lay side by side across the counter. Our super-organized daughter had printed a name at the top of each sheet—Dad, Gabe, Mom, Jessica—followed by 7-10 duties each. Things like cleaning out the refrigerator, mounting the new cabinet in the boys’ bathroom, or measuring and ordering drapes for the boys’ bedroom. She assigned Dad cleaning off every speck of dirt on the newly hung garage door and assigned me the task of re-hanging eight pictures on the kitchen wall by moving all of them three inches to the left.

            “Wait a minute,” I protested. “Three inches? You’re kidding, right? Why not just move the table three inches to the right?”

            “Because it won’t look right,” her voice pleaded with me not to argue. She had a vision of what the perfect place for her soon-to-be blended family looked like and was on a mission to make it happen.

            “I want the table centered against the wall, and the pictures centered over the table. Please, Mom,” she smiled. Case closed. Her warm brown eyes melted my resistance. I picked up the hammer, level, and a tape measure and went to work.

            Over the next seven hours, the four of us marked off every item on our lists. Throughout the day, I heard Jessica appraise each project, “Perfect. Well done. It looks beautiful.” She attended to every detail that would make her, Gabe and the boys feel at home in their new place.

            In the midst of reflecting on my day and readying for a well-deserved rest, I remembered another prepared place. This one for you and me. The Father’s house.

            Jessica’s painstaking preparations only foreshadow the love God pours into His promise about our future home. As Christ reassured his disciples, He assures us that, in time, we will hear the words, “Well done, my good and faithful servant,” as we enter into well-deserved rest. Where? In a place prepared by Christ and with plenty of rooms, each adorned with special touches to bring comfort and joy to all who reside there. A place for God’s blended family. One in which He attends to every detail so each of us feels at home in our new place.

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you.” (John 14:1-2, NIV)

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Heaven and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preparing a Place

  1. A beautiful illustration

Leave a Reply

