When God Works

            Lightning flashed in the distance. Although a storm approached, I would not let it dampen the happiness that warmed me after our Sunday get together with our daughter, her fiancé, and his family. I thanked God for the day, prayed for His safekeeping over my growing family, and drifted off to sleep against the soft patter of rain against the window.

            The alarm jarred me awake to a cool breeze rustling through leaves. Dressed and headed out the door for work, the phone’s shrill ring stopped me short. Our daughter’s voice pleaded for me to answer. She’s never up that early.

            “Mom, I have some serious trouble here.” The night before, while Jim and I slept peacefully, 35 miles across town our daughter huddled in her closet. She frantically clutched her dogs as a mountain of hail rained on her roof. Shards of shattered glass scattered under upstairs windows. Gutters hung from the roof, battered as if beaten by a sledge-hammer. Fencing blew flat against the ground, bushes shredded, and her yard turned into a “bouncing house” full of quarter-sized ice balls. But, Jessica was unharmed.

            While Jim and I slept unaware of the danger that threatened, God worked. He brought her safe through a storm I didn’t even realize raged to the north of us.

            I thanked God for safekeeping our daughter and remembered that He promised to always watch over our coming and going, both now and forevermore (Psalm 121:8). Then I paused, drinking in anew appreciation for Christ’s declaration, “My Father is always at work to this very day…” (John 5:17, NIV)

            God is not a “9-to-5” sort. He works a “24 by 7” shift—twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week—fulfilling His promise to watch over me and mine, now and forevermore. Even when I’m asleep, unaware of circumstances unfolding around me or distracted by situations in which I find myself, I can trust that the Lord is actively engaged on behalf of His children. Whether I know what’s happening or not.

            Whether it’s our children huddled in closets against 80-mile per hour winds, our family and friends traveling or going about their days, our soldiers under fire in foreign lands, or leaders locked in debates over the best course of action for the country, God is there in the midst of it all. Whether I’m consciously aware of Him or not. On that promise, I can rest.

So they asked him, “Who is this fellow who told you to pick up your mat and walk? The man who was healed had no idea who it was…Jesus said to them, “My Father is always at his work to this very day, and I, too, am working.” (John 5:12-13, 17, NIV)

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God Encounters, God Protects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When God Works

  1. Reagan Yellock says:

    Wonderfully written, as usual! Thank God she’s alright (I know, that was the point!) Blessings to you Gloria, Reagan

  2. Glad she come through safely and yes God is always at work. Praise Him!

Leave a Reply

