Where Am I Going?

Unfamiliar with the area, I called for specific directions to the Frisco shop where I would help Jessica select a dress for her special occasion. “We’re on the northeast corner of Preston and Hwy 121,” the sales clerk answered politely. With address and navigation system in hand, how could I miss it?

            When commanded by GPS, I exited the freeway and drove to what I believed was the northeast corner. Winding back and forth along the storefronts, the one I searched for remained well-hidden. I called again, “Here’s where I am, where are you?”

            “Oh, you’re close. Come back towards the freeway, go under it, turn left, get back on the freeway and take the next exit. Make a u-turn back in under the freeway, come back towards Preston and turn right. We’re by Outback Steakhouse.  Got that?”

            “Sure.” I lied, too embarrassed to admit I didn’t grasp her directions. What my eyes saw didn’t match the picture the clerk described.

            I expect Thomas felt the same confusion the day Christ assured His disciples they knew where He was going and how to get there.

            Thomas wasn’t so sure. I wonder if he also was nervous admitting he didn’t grasp Christ’s meaning. That he didn’t get it, even after spending three years traveling with the Lord, witnessing miracles and listening to Christ’s teachings. Thomas saw with mortal eyes and interpreted with earthly ears. In his limited view, he took literally what Christ described spiritually.

            My anxiety grew about being lost. In desperation, I called Jessica for help. Fortunately, her directionally gifted fiancé was with her and knew the way. He found me, and I followed him, winding through back roads and parts of the shopping village the sales woman never described. We reached our destination together. Alone, I never would have made it.

            Sometimes I don’t perceive the full picture. I don’t understand the meaning nor grasp the why of events or circumstances. Even so, I trust Christ is the way. So, whenever I’m confused and lost, I’ll call on Him. He finds me every time. And if I follow him while winding through back roads or unexpected turns in life, I will reach my eternal destination.

            Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way? Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life.” (John 14:5-6, NLT).

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God Encounters, Strengthening the Spirit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

