When God Closes Doors: Is He Shutting Me Out…or In?

“I’m sorry. We’ve decided to go in a different direction.” That was polite for, “We picked someone else, not you.” The door of opportunity slammed in front of me.

            Disappointment and confusion followed. My perfect job and next step on the corporate ladder evaporated before my eyes. I didn’t understand. The position added up to me, not someone else. With my experience, knowledge and leadership skills, I qualified best…didn’t I?

            Rejoicing and thankfulness flowed a year later. A flood of corporate reorganizations swept away the position I was denied, along with the person who won the role. In retrospect I learned…God didn’t close the door in front of me but behind me.

            My natural tendency was to look ahead, down the road.  So, naturally, I only detected doors in front of me. I believed God shut them to divert me in a different direction. I never considered some doors were actually behind me when God closed them.

            Like He did with Noah. Noah built an ark and gathered pairs of creatures. Sprinkles grew into a torrential flood.  Noah and his family entered the ark, and God’s hand shut the ark’s door behind His children, closing them safely inside from the coming destruction.

            What I thought was God shutting a door in front of me to lock me out of an opportunity was really God closing the door behind me. To cocoon me inside of His embrace and the flood of change that would have swept me away.

            If only I can remember to view life from God’s eternal perspective rather than my earthly one. That’s when I can see negative events may be positive ones. Hurts may be helps. Losses may be gains. A shut door locking me out of what’s ahead may really be one my Creator closed behind to keep me safe from what’s outside.

Question for the week: When has God closed a door behind you? Share your thought or comment.

“That very day Noah had gone into the boat with his wife and his sons and their wives…With them in the boat were pairs of every kind of animal…A male and female of each kind entered, just as God had commanded Noah. Then the Lord closed the door behind them” (Genesis 7:13, 16, NLT).

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God Protects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

