Help for the Anxious Traveler

            I’m directionally challenged. Big Time. I can get lost in my own neighborhood without a GPS. So, imagine my distress when faced with a business trip in which I traveled alone and rented a car.

            Last time I traveled to this sprawling city, I took a wrong turn. For several anxious minutes I circled a remote neighborhood at dusk with no lights to brighten street signs and only dilapidated buildings with bars on the windows lining either side of the road. An administrative assistant I called in our office heard panic in my voice and patiently guided me back to my hotel.

            So, days before my upcoming trip, I studied MapQuest and ensured my rental was stocked with a GPS system. Even so, anticipation of driving in afternoon traffic, while at the same time reading street signs and printed directions, only fueled my anxiety. It peaked at the airport when I kissed my husband goodbye and wondered if I would see him again or be forever lost circling the distant city.

            Ridiculous, I laughed at myself and yielded a quick prayer, Okay, God, I’ll drive, but You navigate. I walked through security and to my departing gate, where I buried my nose in a book to distract my thoughts before takeoff.

            The agent announced, “We’re now boarding flight 2863.” I gathered my belongings, looked up and spotted salvation sitting three aisles over—a lady from my office. A quick exchange of greetings confirmed she was going to the same city, attending the same meeting, and staying in the same hotel as me.

            “Hey, I don’t remember your name on the meeting invitation or I would have called you,” I commented as we lined up to board the plane.

            “No, I’m a last-minute add,” she explained. “Why don’t I cancel my car rental, and we travel together? You drive. I’ll navigate.”

            I agreed in a nanosecond, “You’re a Godsend.” And she was. For two days we moved around the city without getting lost once.

            I marveled at my God. He knew my limitations and set wheels in motion to take care of the smallest details—like my travel anxieties—before I even asked. I must remember…Don’t succumb to circumstances, but depend on the Lord who controls them.

Question for the week: What anxiety do you need to turn over to God and trust He will lift you up in due time?

“Humble yourselves therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you” (1 Peter 5:6-7, NIV).

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God Encounters, God in Little Things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

