A Chilling Truth from the Ice Storm

My diary of this week’s Ice Age experience:

Day 1: Snow! Ice! no work, no school. Fixed hot chocolate, watched kids build snowman, took picture. OMG! OMG! OMG!    

Day 2: Another ice day? That’s cool, I guess. Ice-skated on wheels to work, counted 8 cars in ditches, praised God for safe delivery. Braced against wind whipping around trees on walk into office. Encouraged others, “If you drive slow, you can make it.”

Day 3: Woke up at 4 AM…again…to get ahead of traffic. Why won’t it melt? Why can’t I warm up? Discovered black ice, gripped steering wheel till shoulders ached. Counted 2 trucks in ditch, one with green 6′ X 9′ sign resting on its hood and advertising rest stop at next exit.

Day 4: Awoke to 6 more inches of snow. This is weatherman’s idea of a “snow dusting?” Searched for road grooves and hidden ice. Grumbled at speeders. Mumbled thanks to God for safe delivery. Gawked at mid-morning “white out.” Losing patience. Will it never stop? Listened to others worried about their 2-3 hour commutes home.

            Exhausted, my resolve cracked. I tossed in the “white towel” and asked, “Could we close the office? Could our peers to the North and East pick up our slack?” The answer came back, “No, we already lack people to cover anticipated call volume. Can you call others to brave it in?”

            One hour later, the snow stopped, clouds disappeared, the sun radiated and ice melted. At last, the storm passed. Then, a chilling truth came to me.

            Initially, I faced the trial of snow and ice with optimism, determination, and enthusiasm. But, as days wore on, my endurance faltered. I forgot God was still present. I gave up too soon, not realizing the storm’s end was only moments away. Not realizing how I maneuvered the treacherous roads better on Day 4 than on Day 1.

            This week, God reminded me that I will always experience trials, some lasting longer than others — that’s a given. But, how I endure them is my choice: will I persevere and let them strengthen me or will I give up and let them weaken my faith? It’s my decision: will I welcome and grow from the struggles God allows or will I lose traction and let them drive me into a ditch?

“Dear brothers and sisters, whenever trouble comes your way, let it be an opportunity for joy. For when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be strong in character and ready for anything.  (James 1:2-4, NLT).

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Strengthening the Spirit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Chilling Truth from the Ice Storm

  1. Dear Gloria, I feel bad for you to have such a horrible week, if course being iced in for four days had some problems, but maybe not as much anxiety. I do think God was doing some powerful things this week in all of our lives. Lyndie

Leave a Reply

