God Cheers Us On

           “2010 was a good year for me. How can I ever leap-frog those achievements? How can I keep that positive momentum going?” A friend recently shared how he worried himself into a tizzy about the year ahead. Instead of celebrating success, he let the questions tangle him into knots of stress and self-doubt. 

            On his way to work, he stopped at Starbuck’s for a jolt of caffeine. Groaning at a line 7-persons deep and conscious of productive minutes ticking away, he pulled out his Blackberry to check work email. One subject line caught his attention.  “Strength to Overcome.” He opened the note and read,

            “…you are well able to do what God has called you to do…You have the ideas, the creativity and the talent to be successful…God has already lined up the right people   to come across your path; He’s already lined up the right opportunities.”

            My friend puzzled over the message. The sender was a ministry whose website he accessed three days ago for the first time, searching for relief against the work-life questions that encroached upon more than a fair share of mind. Finding no answers, he shifted to other tasks.

            He never subscribed to the site. He never entered his email address. Yet, the sender’s sentiment now flooded him with the peace he sought.

            Hours later, my friend met with his manager to discuss his annual review. It reflected his year of valuable contributions. And, in closing, his manager offered him an opportunity to lead a special project that capitalized on his creativity and talents.

            The unexpected e-mail again popped into mind. More than mere coincidence, my friend knew it was God cheering him on, winking reassurance and stilling an anxious heart. The Lord created my friend for a purpose. And, as the message predicted, God placed the right people in his path for support and lined up the right opportunity to use on his gifts.

            God works the same for all of us. He winks encouragement. He reassures us, “Don’t let self-doubt or worry drag you down. I’ve already prepared your way. And I’ve got your back.” As the psalmist reminds us,

When doubts filled my mind, your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer. (Psalms 94:19, NLT)

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God Encounters and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to God Cheers Us On

  1. Angele Kry says:

    This is distinctly useful, You’re a very highly seasoned writer. I’ve signed up to your rss feed and look forward to finding even more of your magnificent articles. On top of that, I shared your web site in my social networking sites!

  2. Thanks, Gloria for this post. I am encouraged by it. Lyndie

  3. joymarsha says:

    Thanks for this encouragement today. I’m going down a road that God has showed me, and there are things about it that make me reluctant. BUT God has encouraged me – He has cheered me on in similar ways that you wrote about here, so I know I’m on the right track. I don’t want to open the door to doubt; I want to trust in Him with all my heart. This is good.

    • gloriaashby says:

      Joy, thank you for your comment! And keep going on the path God has shown you. He will not only encourage you, but He will clear any obstacles. Have a blessed journey.

Leave a Reply

