God Comes in the Little Things

Ever had one of those Mondays?  You know…the ones where nothing goes as planned? On Monday, December 13, I checked my calendar. Yep, it was really Monday and not Friday.

The alarm jarred me awake. I recited a prayer to start the day,  “Lord, this is the day You made. Let me be glad and rejoice in it.” Remembering my no-time-to-breathe schedule, I added, “Lord, let me be flexible and open to Your guidance.”

I’ve learned when I ask God for something, watch for what happens next related to my request. In this case, mishaps plagued me. Mishaps from my point of view. Yet, from God’s perspective, opportunities to stay flexible. By day’s end, my journal entry was one of gratitude…

Thank You, Lord, for the garage door failing to open this morning. Rising only half way, I couldn’t back out my car and head to work. You slowed me down to take that cleansing breath of patience I would need to face an over-scheduled week. On the 7th attempt and after prayer for deliverance from the garage, You lifted the door and sent me on my way. I rejoiced and remembered…Your power behind my persistence sees me through unexpected delays.

And thank You, Lord, for the person who parked in my spot at work. It’s like my church pew, and he — or she — trespassed in it. So, I parked further out from the office entrance. Irritated at first, I realized walking the extra distance from car to desk energized me with the exercise I missed this morning. Your detours have purpose.

I appreciate the power outage that darkened and silenced everything in our office building for about 15 seconds, but without customer impact. Such outages remind me how grateful I am for the convenience of electricity–and generators. Your power is sufficient.

I’m thankful my watch battery ran out of juice. No longer able to check the time every five minutes, I quit worrying about running late. Lord, can You believe the day flowed smoothly? I handled interruptions and finished tasks at my leisure? Your timing is perfect.

Lastly, thank You, Lord, for slipping the magazine out of my hand when I dozed off while relaxing in the tub. Pages soaked and clinging to each other, reading became impossible. I finished my bath and went to bed early. You gave me much-needed rest.

Thank You, Lord, for answering my prayer. Indeed, this was the day You made.

Ever had one of those days like mine? Feel free to share your story or comment below.

This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it…And he has made his light shine upon us…Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever. (Psalm 118:24, 27, 29, NIV).

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in God in Little Things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

