Do you believe in angels?

            One study reported only 69% of Americans do. Only 46% believe they have a guardian angel. My friend, Martha, knows angels exist. Here is her story.

            Fog moved in and misty rain fell on the streets. Could I make it home two hours away? Or should I spend the night in Fayetteville? My throat was raw. It hurt to swallow, and I wanted to see the doctor the next morning.

            With my new car, I should make the trip safely. Decision made, I headed down the Boston Mountains toward home. Despite nasty weather and slick roads, 18-wheelers and pickups filled Interstate 40. About an hour out-of-town, I noticed a difference in how the car handled. I pulled over and stopped to check my tires. Sure enough, one was flat.

            I climbed back into the car to call my husband, Jim, only to find the phone dead and no charger with me. Great, I thought, sore throat, flat tire, dead phone, rain and me knowing nothing about  changing a tire. What next?

            With no other option than to flag someone down, I breathed a prayer and stood behind the car, waving my arms at each passing motorist. Car after car, truck after truck raced toward their destinations without stopping.

            “At last,” I sighed, noticing a pickup truck pull off the road.

            “Need help?” the driver asked approaching me.

            In the worst way, I thought. “Yes, thank you,” and I pointed to the flat tire. When we opened the trunk of my new car, I discovered the answer to  “What next?” — Spare tire, yes. Jack, no. My new friend walked back to his truck to get his jack. It failed to fit my tire … of course. By then, only passing headlights pierced the black night and shimmered off falling raindrops.

            Cautiously, I asked my new friend, “Would you take me to Russellville to call my husband?”

            He agreed, and we proceeded to his truck. Upon reaching a MacDonald’s in Russellville, he waited while I called Jim from a drive-up phone booth. He then insisted on seeing me safely inside before continuing his journey. When I offered to pay him, he declined and only suggested, “Just say ‘hello’ next time you see a Jehovah’s Witness.”

            Angel or Good Samaritan? Either way, God sent help and guarded over me that night.

“He will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways.” (Psalm 91:11, NIV)

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Angels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

