How Small is Too Small to Count?

My dinner guests arrived on time, but not me. I darted about the kitchen running late. So, I greeted my friends, served hors d’oeuvres, and excused myself to finish preparing cornbread.

Since I’m not a cooking wizard, I followed the recipe to the letter. Cornmeal – check. Eggs – got ‘em. Milk – double check. Baking powder … where’s my baking powder? Dang, I don’t have any. Oh, well, it’s only a ¼ teaspoon. No worries. Skip it.

I mixed, stirred, poured and popped the pan into the oven. Twenty minutes later I pulled out a sizzling, golden brown, quarter-inch deep, cornbread “hockey puck.” How could one ingredient in such a small amount make that much difference in the outcome?

In the movie, It’s a Wonderful Life, George Pratt didn’t think his life made any difference either…until a stranger gave him the opportunity to experience what life would be if George had not been born. As a result, the bank went broke when an employee and George’s rival skipped town after embezzling $50,000. George’s wife and child lived in poverty, and his brother drowned because George wasn’t there to save him. George’s no-count life really had counted.

This holiday, I am thankful for all of you — my family, friends, Sunday School class, writer’s group, co-workers and anyone who has crossed my path for a moment or a season. You count. You are the ¼ tsp of love that, mixed with God’s grace, helps me grow every day and rise to any challenge. You make a difference in my life.  

Thank you for being there, and  Happy Thanksgiving! 

From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work. (Ephesians 4:16, NIV).

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

