Can These Glasses Be Saved?

Have you ever tested how well frameless glasses hold up under the pressure of adults sitting on them? Let me assure you, they don’t.

I know because in an absent-minded moment I sat on those I bought only four months ago. Earpieces once attached to the lens now dangled with exposed prongs. I wondered if they could be restored and cringed at how much repairs might cost. Adding insult to injury, it was Sunday morning. I was doomed to wear clunky, old frames until the eye-glass store opened Monday.

“How can I help you?” The technician greeted me when I walked in. I held out my mangled frames and hung my head like the child who shattered her mom’s antique crystal vase while romping through living room.

He lowered his chin and peered over his glasses. “What happened? Are you on the losing roller-derby team?”

The heat of embarrassment rushed up my neck. “I accidentally sat on them.”

“Hmmm.” The technician took a seat behind a work table and pointed me toward a chair on the other side, facing him. I held my breath while he examined the broken glasses. His verdict, “This will take a while, but I think I can fix them.” During the next 45 minutes, my new best friend reassembled my glasses to their original shape.

As I watched him work, I realized I witnessed a metaphor to another mangled mess I faced, but this time with an individual. Instead of butting heads with a friend over who was right or wrong, I needed to apply the technician’s touch. I needed to repair the frame through which I viewed the situation. I needed to restore the lens through which I eyed the other person. And I needed to mend the bridge that connected our two sides together.

Completing his miracle, the technician handed me my broken glasses now made whole. Once again I saw the world — and my next steps to heal a broken relationship — with clarity. Best of all, to my question, “How much do I owe you?” he replied, “No charge. The price has already been paid.”

Once more Jesus put his hands on the man’s eyes. Then his eyes were opened, his sight was restored, and he saw everything clearly. (Mark 8:25, NIV)

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

