When God Speaks

After my first writer’s conference, I considered creating a weekly blog. A fellow writer and accountability partner encouraged me, but anxieties dogged me. I procrastinated with my usual excuses … “I don’t have time to fit in one more thing.” “What would I write about week after week?” “Who would care enough to read it?” I wrestled so much with self-doubts that twelve months slipped by without me taking action. Then, as this year’s annual writer’s conference approached …

Rejected. Rejected. Rejected. Three emails two days before the conference informed me my articles didn’t fit their publishing needs. The flame of my passion to write flickered.

I whispered a prayer, wondering if I misunderstood God’s call. I implored Him, “Lord, I already teach. Is that enough? Do you want me to keep going with writing Your inspired stories? Send me just one clear sign for direction.”

Two days later God sent me three while I attended the conference.

The first came through a keynote speaker testifying about her 63 rejection letters before she finally published. I mulled over her words, and my spirit lifted an inch. So, God, I’ve got three down and 60 to go.

God orchestrated the second signal when I skipped a class on impulse and browsed book tables instead before the next session. At that precise moment God dropped another key presenter into my path. As our conversation clicked, she asked if I wanted to chat in her classroom until her next appointment arrived. I did. She inquired about my writing, and I pulled out my book’s introduction.

“Why is your work familiar?” She paused, then remembered. “Oh, yes, you entered this piece in the non-fiction book contest. I helped judge. Your story drew me in, and I wanted to read more. It was in my top submissions pile, but I could choose only two winners.” I didn’t win the non-fiction category, but she fanned the flames of my passion to write.

God sent one final sign as the conference closed the first day with contest awards. “Fiction, 2nd place goes to… Fiction 1st place goes to…,” the host announced initial winners. “The next category is Devotionals and 2nd place goes to … Gloria Ashby.” Oh, my goodness, that’s me.

Approved. Approved. Approved. My passion to write flamed brightly again. I heard God’s voice from the midst of the fire. He’s always been faithful whenever He set me to a task. How could I doubt Him now? I hope you will be blessed with whatever words God inspires me to share.

“Surely the Lord our God has shown us His glory and His greatness, and we have heard His voice from the midst of the fire. We have seen this day that God speaks with man;…” (Deuteronomy 5:2, NKJV)

About Gloria Ashby

I'm a writer, speaker and teacher. I live with my husband in the DFW area, and close to our daughter and her family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When God Speaks

  1. Mary says:

    You go Girl! I look forward to your BLOG’s each week and have reread many.

  2. Dawn Brewer says:

    Thank you, Gloria. Your words inspired me and filled me with hope for all the great things God brings our way. Your story and knowing that I can look forward to hearing more about how God shows up everyday made my day. Congrats on your recognition and keep writing!!

  3. Patti Johnson says:

    Thank you, Gloria. I am so happy that you have taken this step! Congratulations and I look forward to your thoughts as you take this forward. God bless……

  4. Leah Jane Taglienti says:

    Finally! I can cherish your words as I have che3rished your friendship these 30 years! I look forward t “seeing” more of your work.

Leave a Reply

